Friday, May 22, 2009


Frank Lampard has become the first to be named Chelsea Player of the Year for a third time.

The 2004 and 2005 winner was again voted the leading performer over the season by the fans. The trophy was handed over by Guus Hiddink to a vice-captain who declared himself 'delighted'.

'It feels great because of the amount of top quality players who have won this award,' Lampard told

'When I came here I never expected to win it three times at all, I just wanted to establish myself, but getting this award and the recognition from your own fans is a huge thing in football. I am absolutely delighted.'

Michael Essien's thunderous left-foot volley at home to Barcelona was voted Chelsea Goal of the Season by the supporters.

It's the second time in the three years this award has been part of the Player of the Year evening that the Ghanaian has won the accolade. In 2007 another rocket at the Bridge, this time at home to Arsenal, gained the most votes. Last season Juliano Belletti's strike v Tottenham was the winner.

The trophy was presented to Essien by Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink.

'It is always good to win something,' Essien told 'We put effort in to win trophies and win personal trophies, so it is great.

'I meant to do it because when I saw the ball coming that was the only option that came to my mind, I tried to take it and I had a bit of luck.

'It is difficult to score those kinds of goals and you need a bit of luck.'

Ashley Cole won the Samsung Players' Player of the Year, an accolade presented by former Player of the Year Charlie Cooke and decided by the staff who work with the first team as well as the squad.

'I'm shocked but it's a great honour and I am very privileged to have got this award,' Cole smiled as he cradled the trophy. 'There are a lot of players who deserved it, but I am happy to collect this award.

'It is always nice to get recognition from anyone but from your players it means a lot more and I feel this year I could have done better, I could have scored a few goals, but I do feel the fittest I have ever felt and playing as best as I have for Chelsea.'

The Young Player of the Year award was in association with adidas and was selected by coaches Paul Clement and Ray Wilkins.

Michael Mancienne who turned 21 this season and returned from loan at Wolves to make his Chelsea first team debut was the winner.

That award was presented by golf legend Colin Montgomerie (above left) and Bob Orsborn (right), many years an important figure in the Chelsea Academy who was once the young JT's landlord and his first Chelsea coach at the age of 14.

Peter Kenyon handed a Special Recognition award, a new honour, to CLIC Sargent, Chelsea's UK charity partner for the past four years. It's a partnership that is coming to an end in its current form but has raised over £2 million for work with children with cancer.

1967 Peter Bonetti
1968 Charlie Cooke
1969 David Webb
1970 John Hollins
1971 John Hollins
1972 David Webb
1973 Peter Osgood
1974 Gary Locke
1975 Charlie Cooke
1976 Ray Wilkins
1977 Ray Wilkins
1978 Micky Droy
1979 Tommy Langley
1980 Clive Walker
1981 Petar Borota
1982 Mike Fillery
1983 Joey Jones
1984 Pat Nevin
1985 David Speedie
1986 Eddie Niedzwiecki
1987 Pat Nevin
1988 Tony Dorigo
1989 Graham Roberts
1990 Ken Monkou
1991 Andy Townsend
1992 Paul Elliott
1993 Frank Sinclair
1994 Steve Clarke
1995 Erland Johnsen
1996 Ruud Gullit
1997 Mark Hughes
1998 Dennis Wise
1999 Gianfranco Zola
2000 Dennis Wise
2001 John Terry
2002 Carlo Cudicini
2003 Gianfranco Zola
2004 Frank Lampard
2005 Frank Lampard
2006 John Terry
2007 Michael Essien
2008 Joe Cole
2009 Frank Lampard


1983 Keith Dublin
1984 Robert Isaac
1985 Gareth Hall
1986 Micky Bodley
1987 Jason Cundy
1988Eddie Cunnington
1989 No award
1990 No award
1991 Andy Myers
1992 Zeke Rowe
1993 Neil Shipperley
1994 Mark Nicholls
1995 Chris McCann
1996 Jody Morris
1997 Nick Crittenden
1998 John Terry
1999 Sam Dalla Bona
2000 Rhys Evans
2001 Leon Knight
2002 Carlton Cole
2003 Robert Huth
2004 Robert Huth
2005 Robert Huth
2006 Lassana Diarra
2007 John Mikel Obi
2008 The U18s Youth team
2009 Michael Mancienne


Sponsored by Samsung and voted by the first team squad, coaching and medical staff
2006 Claude Makelele
2007 Didier Drogba
2008 Ricardo Carvalho
2009 Ashley Cole


2007 Michael Essien v Arsenal
2008 Juliano Belletti v Tottenham
2009 Michael Essien v Barcelona

No comments: